Shell’s Make the Future 2017 to bring student ideas at centre stage

Shell India, one of the largest and the most diversified global leaders in India’s energy sector, is set for the first phase of registration for Shell Eco-marathon 2017.

Shell Eco-marathon is a unique competition that challenges students around the world to design, build and drive the most energy-efficient car. The competition
encourages student teams to take to the track to see who goes further on the least amount of fuel.

This year, the Phase One of the registration process will open on July 12 and close on August 11 2016. The Indian finalists will compete with other Asian countries in Singapore in March 2017. Shell Eco-marathon includes many energy types and sparks passionate debate around the future of energy and mobility.

Started in 1939, the competition is seen as a festival of ideas and innovation that provides a platform for engineers to showcase their talent while addressing the global energy challenges.

Commenting on the initiative, Mr. Vikash Mishra, Country Head, External Relations, Shell India says, “Make the Future is an exciting opportunity for budding innovators to exhibit their talent on a global platform where science meets innovation while highlighting the importance of sustainable development. We at Shell India, strongly believe that this concerted effort will bring together the participation of important stakeholders to discuss the global issues of energy and look at the various solutions, which is the need of the hour. We would like to extend our best wishes to the participants, and hope that they strive in this competition, making their university and their nation proud.”

With this initiative, Shell aims to inspire a new wave of scientists and engineers to create a smarter and cleaner energy future that can shape the world for generations to come. The event also brings together thought leaders and multi-sectoral representatives from all over the Asia-Pacific region to address the energy challenges of the world.

In Asia, the Shell Eco-marathon was first held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 2010.  Previously, ten Indian student teams from top technical institutions including- Birla Institute of Technology & Science (BITS) Pilani, Delhi Technological University, Jamia Millia Islamia, Pandit Deen Dayal Petroleum University, Gandhinagar; Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology, Bengaluru; SRM University Chennai; RV College of Engineering, Bengaluru and VIT University, Vellore qualified in the seventh edition of Shell Eco-marathon at Manila, Philippines in March 2016.

For more information pls contact-
Priyanka Dube
Country Advisor, External Relations-

No comments: