Gujar Mal Modi Award

On the occasion of the birth anniversary of Late Rai Bahadur Gujar Mal Modi, ‘Gujar Mal Modi Award for Innovative Science & Technology 2013’ is awarded to internationally renowned scientist Dr. Vinod Prakash Sharma for his outstanding achievements in malaria research, control and prevention, including other vector borne diseases.

The award was announced during a ceremony held at Shri Sathya Sai Auditorium, The scientist received a cash prize of Rupees two lakh and one thousand, a scroll of honour and a silver shield.

Mr. S. Jaipal Reddy on this special occasion sent his
greetings “I congratulate the Gujar Mal Modi Science Foundation for continuing with its noble endeavour.”
He also congratulates Dr. Sharma for its outstanding efforts in the field in malaria research, control and prevention, including other vector borne diseases.

Dr. Vinod Prakash Sharma is a scientist of International repute known for his path-breaking work and contribution in the field of basic and applied research of Malaria and vector biology.

He is spearheading the “Safe Water” campaign of the National Academy of Sciences, India launched during the Year of Science.

His work on popularization of science, creating awareness and science education programmes of NASI are widely appreciated including in very remote areas.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. S.K. Modi, President of the G.M. Modi Foundation, was full of admiration and praise for the eminent scientist and restated his dedication towards research in the field of science and technology.

“A Malariologist like Dr. Sharma is to be credited for bringing the nation at the frontier of the international scientific community. We, at The Gujar Mal Modi Science Foundation feel delighted and proud to recognize such invaluable research of our distinguished scientists, and will continue to be committed to carrying forward our efforts and dedication on bringing to light such achievements.”

The Gujar Mal Modi Innovative Science and Technology Award is among the highest cash awards in the country in the field of Science and Technology.

The award was instituted in 1988 in the memory of one of the great industrialists of India, late Rai Bahadur Gujar Mal Modi.

It is given each year to a person who has demonstrated the qualities of excellence and innovation through outstanding research and providing leadership in the development and promotion of Science and Technology in India.

No comments: